twitter logo and link to our twitter account
SWTOR Life Logo
Search our SWTOR Database

Tag Archive 'servers'

No Downtime For Server Maintenance This Week

Published by under community news on May. 21. 2012.

BioWare has announced that we will not have to sit through a maintenance period this Tuesday. That’s right, feel free to play to your hearts content all week long! Here is the official message from the forums:

 

We’d like to inform players that we will not be requiring any downtime during our usual scheduled maintenance window on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2012.

Both the website and the game servers will be available for play.

Enjoy the game!

Comments Off

April 19th Patch Notes

Published by under community news on Apr. 19. 2012.

The servers were down for an unscheduled maintenance last night in order to get in a couples fixes players have been experiencing since the launch of 1.2. This is not the first time the servers have gone down unexpectedly since 1.2, but it’s important to realize that this is not unusual. Whenever a big update like we saw with 1.2 gets deployed there will inevitably be a few bugs that seek through that need some TLC. While there is always the hope that these unscheduled maintenance periods are a rare occurrence, it is at least good to know that the development team is hard at work keeping SWTOR up and working for us. Here are the patch notes from last night’s maintenance:

 

1.2.0c Patch Notes

4/19/2012

General

  • Corrected an audio issue that could cause a loud, perpetual “jet engine” sound that is most noticeable on the Republic and Imperial Fleets.
  • Corrected a rare issue that could cause players to be unable to access their guild.

Classes and Combat

Bounty Hunter

Mercenary
  • Heatseeker Missile: This ability will now only gain extra damage from your additional stacks of Heat Signatures and will not incorrectly detect debuffs from other players.

Trooper

Commando
    • Demolition Round: This ability will now only gain extra damage from your additional stacks of Gravity Vortex and will not incorrectly detect debuffs from other players.

World Event

  • Jeelvic the Jawa will no longer take more DNA samples than intended for purchases.
  • Players who were not properly granted final event codex entry and title for defeating Infected Trapjaw, Zama Brak, and Urtagh will be granted both the title and codex entry.

PvP

  • Increased rewards for players on the losing side of Warzone matches.
  • Players will now receive rewards for Warzones if they have earned at least one medal.

Comments Off

April 17th Scheduled Maintenance

Published by under community news on Apr. 16. 2012.

This week’s scheduled maintenance will be taking place on Tuesday, April 17th from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/8AM BST/9AM CEST/5PM AEST) until 7AM CDT (5AM PDT/8AM EDT/1PM BST/2PM CEST/10PM AEST). All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than five hours, but could be extended.

 

In addition to the regular maintenance there will also be a new design for the official SWTOR website which will require it to be offline from 1AM CDT (April 17th, 11PM PDT/2AM EDT/7AM BST/8AM CEST/4PM AEST) until 11AM CDT (9AM PDT/12PM EDT/5PM BST/6PM CEST/April 18th,2AM AEST). Once the site comes back up, the new redesign will be unveiled.

Comments Off

April 3rd Weekly Maintenance

Published by under community news on Apr. 02. 2012.

After a break from the regular schedule last week we are back to our normal weekly maintenance time for SWTOR. Both servers and swtor.com will be down on April 3rd from  2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/8AM GMT/9AM CET/7PM AEDT) until 7AM CDT (5AM PDT/8AM EDT/1PM GMT/2PM CET/12AM AEDT).

 

Though the maintenance time is only scheduled for 5 hours there is always a chance it will be extended if the situation requires it. At the same time there is always a chance the maintenance will finish early, so keep an eye on the server status if this falls during your usual play time.

 

Update: BiowWare reported today that this week’s maintenance period is going to take longer than originally reported. It is not scheduled to take around 7 hours instead of 5, and is expected to end at 9AM CDT (7AM PDT/10AM EDT/3PM BST/4PM CEST/12AM AEST).

Comments Off

March 20th Scheduled Maintenance

Published by under community news on Mar. 19. 2012.

It’s that time again, weekly maintenance time. Servers will be down on March 20th from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/7PM AEDT) until 7AM CDT (5AM PDT/8AM EDT/12PM GMT/1PM CET/12AM AEDT). All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than five hours, but could be extended.

Comments Off

March 13th Server Maintenance

Published by under community news on Mar. 12. 2012.

It’s time again for our weekly SWTOR server maintenance. The servers will be down from 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/6PM AEST) and are expected to be back up around 10AM CDT (8AM PDT/11AM EDT/3PM GMT/4PM CET/2AM AEST-Wednesday). All servers will be offline during this period as BioWare performs their weekly updates and bug fixes.

 

As always the servers could be down for longer than the intended 8 hours, and could very easily come back online before the 8 hours are up as well. If there are any major changes to the server downtime we will update this post accordingly.

Comments Off

SWTOR Officially Launches in the Asia Pacific Territories

Published by under community news on Mar. 01. 2012.

Today marks the much anticipated day where The Old Republic officially brought servers online for the Oceanic regions. Though players in those areas could play during the US/EU launch they were forced to log onto servers located across the globe, forcing them to deal with all the latency problems one would expect from not having servers devoted specifically to their region. Now these players will finally get a chance to play SWTOR on localized servers. Three servers have opened up for these players; the Dalborra, the Gav Daragon, and the Master Dar’Nala, each being a PvE, RP, and PvP server respectively.

 

However there is some bittersweet news to go along with this story as well. Players have been told that they will be able to transfer their current characters to the Oceanic servers, as long as they meet a list of requirements that qualifies them for the transfer. But it turns out they will not be able to do so until sometime in late April, and any characters made on or after this day will not be transferred. Also, full guild transfers will not be possible,  forcing guilds to basically start from the ground up on these new servers. This is forcing players to choose between what they consider more important right now; playing their high level characters on their current server, or starting fresh on localized servers. To make matters worse some players are reporting a might higher latency rate on these new servers, making the decision to start over even more difficult.

 

despite these issues it is still a great day for players in the Asia Pacific Territories. BioWare has set up a handy FAQ thread for these servers to help answer any questions players might have. We here at SWTOR-Life and SWTOR-Spy would like to extend a warm welcome any new players from that region into the game, hopefully your Star Wars experience is a great one!

Comments Off

February 7th Maintenance

Published by under community news on Feb. 06. 2012.

It’s that time of the week again, maintenance time. Servers will be going down tonight starting at 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) and are scheduled to remain down until 6AM CST (4AM PST/7AM EST/12PM GMT/1PM CET).

 

As always the servers could come back online before the four hours are up, or they could stay down longer if need be. We shall keep you posted if the times change for any reason.

Comments Off

Emergency Maintenance Scheduled for February 2nd

Published by under Breaking News,community news on Feb. 02. 2012.

Since last Tuesday’s patch there have been a large amount of issues concerning hitching and freezing being reported by players. BioWare has decided to do an emergency update starting at 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) and report that it will last until 4AM CST (2AM PST/5AM EST/10AM GMT/11AMPM CET).

 

This is a server side only update so players will not have to download anything once the servers are back up. While the maintenance is expected to take no more than two hours there remains the possibly that the time frame will be adjusted if the need arises.

Comments Off

TOR Lore: Server Explanations Pt. 2

Published by under Editorial,gameplay on Dec. 18. 2011.

In response to long queue times and the need for servers, the folks over at BioWare having been bring up new servers of all types for both the European community and the US since the start of early access. Here are a list of the new servers and the lore explanation for their names. As with my previous list I will not provide a lore explanation for a server if the name is drawn from SWTOR itself to avoid spoilers.

You can find the first list of server names and the lore explanations for them here Continue Reading »

Comments Off

Next »