twitter logo and link to our twitter account
SWTOR Life Logo
Search our SWTOR Database

BioWare Continues to Fix Bugs, Promises More Fixes During Tonight’s Maintenance

Published by under community news on Jan. 23. 2012.

Ever since 1.1 rolled out last week BioWare seems to be racing to put out fires. Starting with the fiasco on Ilum, and moving right into ability issues, log in problems, and we even saw a server (The Exile Crystal) go down yesterday. Now there is no evidence that links every single one of these problems to the 1.1 update, with the exception of Ilum, but it seems that ever since the update was released BioWare has been in crisis mode.

 

But there is a silver lining to all these issues in the fact that BioWare has shown the player base just how fast it is able to deal with these problems when they arise. They rolled out a fix for Ilum the very next day after the problem became apparent, players unable to log into their accounts were able to do so on the same day the issue was reported, and The Exile Crystal was up and ready to go just over an hour after if went down. Of course there are players that will complain that even these response times were not fast enough, but it is the consensus of most players that BioWare has done a great job at identifying and fixing these problems almost as soon as they were brought up.

 

But there remains one group of problems that still have not been resolved, the ability delay problems. As we reported on earlier, players have been experiencing¬† a plethora of issues when it comes to their ability’s cooldown and activation times. Georg Zoeller promised players that they would be including fixes for a couple of these problems in tomorrows patch, but have yet promise a fix for the delay between player’s imputing commands and seeing the abilities activate.

 

With any luck we will see all these problems fixed, or at least improved, during the weekly maintenance that will be taking place tonight. As a reminder the maintenance is scheduled to occur at 2 AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) and will continue until 8AM CST (6AM PST/9AM EST/2PM GMT/3PM CET). As always the start and end times are subject to change if the need arises.

2 responses so far

2 Responses to “BioWare Continues to Fix Bugs, Promises More Fixes During Tonight’s Maintenance”

  1. Rosieon 23 Jan 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I am still seeing people in Ilum that are level 15 or so idling by chest spawns. I am not sure they are addressing that issue particually well.

    as for the PvP changes. well.. I don’t like the new missions on Ilum. I can never find armorments, and i get killed way too much. so it has become more frustrating ..

    Oh well i look forward to seeing them address issues. they seem to be doing so promptly. although i am kind of sick of the droid replys to my bug reports.

    Rosie

  2. Sirielon 24 Jan 2012 at 9:04 am

    You did not mention that many players either cannot run SWTOR without crashing within 15 minutes and those with 2 GB of RAM have a very hard time finding settings that will not overload their RAM in about 5 to 15 minutes.

    These issues do not seem to be prioritized.

    For the RAM overload, other players with 5+ GB of RAM on the forums tend to shove it off with proud remarks about how powerful their computer is, ish! Personally, with 2 GB of RAM, I have played many high graphics MMOs, FPS with 50+ players in the same instance. I just can’t accept that an instanced and non-FPS game like SWTOR, even when there is only 10 players on my planet at the time, uses up twice the total RAM (real+virtual) of all others games I have played.

    My fix : in my case, oddly enough, setting high textures combined with setting NVIDIA to high performance, did the trick. I mean that when I tried LOW textures, my computer was overloading within 5 minutes. Odd.